Know A Librarian – Jane Treadwell!

Wow! Where did the summer go? It’s hard to believe we are gearing up for Fall 2012 semester already. Since it’s the start of a new academic year, we thought it would be the perfect time for you to get acquainted with our fearless leader – University Librarian and Dean of Library Instructional Services for UIS, Jane Treadwell!

When we interviewed Dean Treadwell for the “Know A Librarian” feature she started off by saying, “I’ve had the honor of serving in this role for the past ten years – years in which there have been tremendous changes in libraries and here at UIS. I am very fortunate to have an office with a great view, and each fall it’s been delightful to see more students and more activity on campus—and more students coming to the library!”

Now– Let’s let Jane tell us more about herself: “Originally from South Carolina, I attended a liberal arts college, Furman University, where I completed a bachelor’s degree in History.  After working for a few years as a social worker, I saw the value that having the right information could make for a person’s ability to find the resources that they needed to improve their lives.  That’s how I decided to pursue librarianship as a career.  After completing my MLS at Florida State University,  I worked at the University of Florida and Texas A&M University before serving for a number of years as Director of Collections and Technical Services at the main library of Emory University in Atlanta. Since 2002, it has been my pleasure to serve the University of Illinois Springfield as University Librarian and Dean of Library Instructions Services in Brookens Library.  I’m also active in the profession, currently serving as a member of OCLC’s Global Council and as vice-chair/chair-elect of the OCLC Americas Regional Council.

My husband and I love to travel, and with three adult children living in New York City and family in the Charleston, South Carolina area, those are some of my favorite places to visit.  We also try to see one new museum and one new botanical garden each year—I’ll never forget the time we got lost at the Royal Botanical Garden in Canada!  When at home, not surprisingly, I spend a great deal of my free time gardening.  Cicero is believed to have said, ‘If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.’  I’d have to agree.”

Welcome back to campus and have a great semester!

Leave a Reply

