What We’re Reading: Alex Bauman

What We’re Reading: Alex Bauman

1.) What are you reading?
I am currently reading the third book from the A Song of Ice and Fire series: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin.

2.) How did you make your selection?
I started reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series because of the HBO series A Game of Thrones. I started the series Spring Break of 2013 out of boredom. After I saw the first couple of episodes I marathon watched the whole series, which only took me a couple days. After those few, glorious days I found myself without any new episodes. So, naturally, I looked up when the next season was coming out. When I learned that season 4 wouldn’t air until April 2014 my heart was crushed. After a couple of months of Game-of-Thrones-less misery I decided to start reading the books. The books are pretty thick so reading has been slow going, but I’m really enjoying them. I hope to finish all 5 books before season 5 comes out which should be plenty of time.

3.) Describe the book in 20 words or less using your own words.
Fantasy, emotion, mystery, action, adventure, basically anything anyone could ever want in a book. Oh, and more characters than you can imagine.

4.) What did you like? What didn’t you like?
I really like that G. R. R. Martin has no problem killing his characters. What I don’t like is that G. R. R. Martin has no problem killing his characters.

5.) Who would you recommend should read this?
People like me who can’t wait for season 4 to come out. But anyone that enjoys readings could enjoy the books. I think G. R. R. Martin writes in a way that gives you views from all sides of the story. While this makes the books a little more complicated, it also makes them more fun to read.

Leave a Reply

