Meet the Team: Student Manager Taylor

Meet Taylor: Brookens Library Student Manager Student Manager Taylor

Name: Taylor Vazquez

Year in school: Junior

Major/Minor: English

Hometown: Chicago

Hobbies:

Reading, writing, and watching movies

Post-college plans:

Hopefully get into a MLIS program! I remember being really young and telling my mom that I wanted to be a librarian, not really fully understanding what they did, just that they were the people who gave me books at my local library. It wasn’t a fully actualized dream. Since coming to UIS and working at Brookens, seeing all that an academic librarian does, and realizing all that this job has done for me both academically and personally, I am 100% certain that this is what I want to pursue.

 Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most?

My mom. I do not know what I would do without her, no one puts up with me like she does! She worked very hard to give me the life that I had and instilled in me the importance of an education and being patient with yourself, something I am still working on. I don’t live at home anymore, but I still talk with my mom all the time for advice or to tell her something funny or embarrassing that happened to me. I think my mom and I are very similar in that we are both incapable of having a completely normal day.

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

So many things. This job helped improve my own research skills considerably and how to help others learn the same skill. Most importantly, I feel Brookens has taught me responsibility and the importance of loving what you do. I am very proud of my position here, I don’t think my UIS experience would be half as good if it wasn’t for the library. I love my job.

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

Working on the Haunted Library team! It’s so much fun conceptualizing the details of this big event and then actually making it happen.

 

Leave a Reply

