Meet the Team: Gabriela, Student Employee

rotating_gabi-sept-2016Name: Gabriela Ortiz

Year in school: Senior

Major/Minor: Criminology and Criminal Justice

Hometown: Chicago

Hobbies: Play soccer

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

My ultimate goal is to work for the FBI one day. I would love to do this because I love to help people out and I feel that this is a unique way to help out, not only an individual but possibly a whole community.

 

Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

My older brother would be the one who inspires me. For as long as I can remember he has always worked hard to get what he wants. He graduated from one of the worst high schools in Chicago, went off to a technical school for diesel mechanics and soon after went off to the marines for four years. As soon as he came back he was back in school trying to get his degree and working. My brother has never once settled and always tried to go for even better things and I always admired him for that. Not once have I seen him just sit there and do nothing, he has always been on the move.

 

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

Working at Brookens library has really taught me to have patience and has really bettered my customer service skills. I have learned how to better interact with people. It has also helped me to be a bit more outgoing outside of the work place.

 

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

I definitely think that our retreats have been the best experience for me. It has been a time for all of the student workers, as well as supervisors, to bond. They have all been a learning experience as well as very fun ones. The one that stands out the most would be our 2016 retreat. I remember my team had to try to make a turtle out of all of us in the group. I was placed at the bottom and right when Crystal was going to make the shell I moved and she fell on top of me.

Leave a Reply

