Meet the Team: Tabbitha

TabbithaName: Tabbitha – Communications Assistant (LLE)

Year in school: Senior

Major/Minor: Visual Arts

Hometown: Macomb, IL

Hobbies: Drawing, reading, playing video games, playing with Photoshop, photography

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

I have a few options in mind. One, I want to teach abroad. A few of my friends have done it and they’re encouraging me to do it too. I want to join Teach for America since the United States is in need of more teachers. No matter what my job is, I want to encourage people to make art. I love art and I want others to love it too.

 Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

My parents are the biggest influence in my life. They encourage me to do my best and help me figure out what I want to do with my life. My moms send me care packages when I don’t feel my best. My dad reminds me of why I continue going to college.

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

Brookens has taught me how to work with and talk to a variety of people. While working here I have become more confident in my work. It’s really neat whenever somebody comes up to me as I’m working on the chalkboard to say that they really like what I do.


What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

One of the most memorable experiences that I have had at the library is when I work Haunted Library. I already love Halloween so it’s a lot of fun setting up for this event. The best scare reactions are the big and tall dudes who act tough but cling to each other and spew out expletives.

Leave a Reply

