Meet the Team: Colleen

colleen_fy17-webName: Colleen

Year in school: Junior

Major/Minor: Business Management, Minors in International Studies and Communication

Hometown: Flora, IL

Hobbies: Crafting, Cooking/Baking, Reading

Position in the Library:

Leadership Lived Experience (LLE) Student Employee for the Central Illinois Nonprofit Resource Center (CINRC) at Brookens Library

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

After graduating with my undergraduate degree, I want to find a career in student services and help other students realize and achieve their dreams. When reflecting on my college experience so far, I realized how the people I engaged with outside my classes encouraged me to do bigger and better things for myself and my community – and that I wanted to do the same for other students. In addition to this, I would like to serve underrepresented populations as a resource to small business owners. This is something that I want to do as a volunteer – I have this knowledge from my business degree and it does not make sense for me to not share it with others who need it. I also plan to stay active as an alumna with my sorority, Gamma Phi Omega International Sorority, Inc.

Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

The people that influence and inspire me the most are my parents and younger sister. My parents have always been supportive of me and my dreams, and just knowing that I have their support in whatever I do is a very powerful influence in my life. My younger sister will be enrolling in college within the next couple years, and I want to show her how much she can get from her college experience. There’s so many more ways that they influence and inspire me, but it’s too much to express here.

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

Working at Brookens Library has taught me how important it is to have a good team of people to work with. Having a supportive, fun group of people makes the work fun and the day goes by faster.

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

My most memorable experience I have had at the library was the first semester I worked at Brookens! I know it’s a pretty big time frame, but I worked with some of the best people (Laura, Janet, Shakiah, etc.) and almost always enjoyed coming in to work!

Leave a Reply

