Meet the Team: Carolyn

Student employee, CarolynName: Carolyn

Year in school: Senior

Major/Minor: Chemistry w/ biochemistry concentration, minor in psychology

Hometown: Oak Forest, IL

Hobbies: Star-gazing, reading, Netflix, learning languages

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

I’m currently filling out my applications for grad school. I plan on getting my master’s degree in forensic science so that I can eventually work to solve crimes through chemistry.

Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

I don’t know if it’s cheating to pick a fictional character, but growing up, my biggest influence was Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series. I always wanted to be just like her: smart, brave, and shamelessly self-confident. Looking up to this character has gotten me to where I am in life now!

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

I’ve learned so much working here at Brookens, but most importantly I learned how to be more adaptive. You never know what kind of question you’re going to encounter until it is already happening, so quick-thinking is a must-have.

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

The everyday experiences of working at the library are my personal favorites. I love interacting with my fellow student workers, my supervisors, and even the patrons. All of the different people are what make this job so great!

Leave a Reply

