Meet the Team: Malcolm

Malcolm, a student workerName: Malcolm

Year in school: Senior

Major/Minor:  English/ African American Studies & Criminal Justice

Hometown: Chicago, IL

Hobbies: Reading, Writing, Community Service, And Quality time with my friends and family.

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

After college I plan to go to the Navy to get a break from school and academia. I want to see the world and gain some valuable experiences. After that I intend to go to the University of Washington @ Seattle and to get my Master in Library and Research Science.

Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

I think the people who influence me the most are my parents and my grandparents. I’m the oldest child and the oldest grand-child so I’ve always had a lot of responsibility, but they put so much time and effort in to me, so at the end of it all I just want them to be proud.

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

Working at Brookens has taught me to be critical, and to be open minded/ flexible. Often we have to do things we wouldn’t do or complete tasks that weren’t assigned to us so in that sense I’ve learned to be open minded and adaptable. We also go through daily troubleshooting in completing tasks and helping our co-workers to complete theirs, this is what I mean by being critical.

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

The most memorable experience I’ve had at the library would have to be the 2015 fall staff training! It was super fun and it was the last time I saw a lot of the older library student staff (who have since graduated).

Leave a Reply

