Meet the Team: Scott

Scott, a Student WorkerName: Scott

Year in School: Senior

Major/Minor: Business Administration Marketing Major, Accountancy Minor

Hometown: Chicago, IL

Hobbies: Spending time with family and friends, listening to music, reading, watching television, walking, and gardening

Post-college plans/What do you want to be when you grow up and why?

I’d like to get a job with my bachelor’s degree, then go on to graduate school and work toward obtaining a master’s degree. I’m not quite sure exactly what I want to pursue in graduate school, but have narrowed my fields of study down to obtaining either a Master’s of Science in Business Analytics or a Master’s of Science in Marketing. I have always been interested in working for an organization with an admirable agenda and a difference-making, world-changing outlook. I enjoy working with data, so a profession dealing with working with data would be great.

Who is the person that influences you or inspires you the most? Why?

I’ve got to give it up to two people for being the biggest inspirations in my life; these people are my mom and dad. My parents are some of the hardest working people I know and have instilled in me the importance of working hard for what I want in life. They also encourage me to continuously learn, acquire new knowledge, and grow as a person. My parents are also immensely considerate and selfless, always willing to lend a helping hand to others. I will forever be grateful for having them in my life to look up to and have by my side.

What has working at Brookens Library taught you?

Working at Brookens has been such a great learning experience for me. I am so appreciative to have worked here during some of my college career. Working at Brookens has furthered taught me the importance of promptness, being tactful, courtesy, and good communication skills.

What is a memorable experience you have had at the library/UIS?

My most memorable experience at Brookens Library would have to be the small, daily exchanges with the patrons and my coworkers while I worked my shifts. Though small, they were significant nonetheless; it truly is the little things. I have enjoyed my time at Brookens helping people.

Leave a Reply

