Meet the Team: Kendra

Name: Kendra
Major: Psychology
Status: Sophomore

What is your favorite thing about being a student at UIS? My favorite thing about being a student at UIS is that I am close to home. However, I am far enough away that I can grow as an individual and make my own living. I can also do this at my own pace, while still being able to go back home whenever I wish.

What are your goals for the semester?  My number one goal is to be a more positive person. I also want to continue to increase my GPA and make it on the Dean’s list ( I’m so close!) Finally, I want to be more social and interactive.

If there were a reality TV show of your life, what would it be called? Why?  Whoops, that happened! I have actually thought this out, my life is ever changing and unfortunately random occurrences happen a lot. So, Instead of getting freaked out or worried I kind of have turned “Whoops” into a catch phrase. It takes practice to laugh at your life and the events within it, but after awhile it becomes the best way to handle stress.

Are you involved in any clubs/activities/sports on campus? Or what are your hobbies? I am In A.R.E.A, the psychology club, and the UIS garden club. My hobbies include: crafts, watching tv, listening to music, hanging out with friends, and sleep.

What have you learned since working at the library?I have learned that the library seems to be the heart of campus questions, but we are happy to answer them! Also, I have realized how much work actually goes into keeping a library up to date. Finally, it’s the best place to make friends. I love my job mainly because of all the wonderful people I have met at work, or while working.

What are your post-graduation plans? I am not entirely sure what I plan to do outside of graduation, but I do know I want to counsel people in some way. I want to help people psychologically to make their life better, I just don’t know where or in what way. I am also debating a Minor in Criminal Justice or double Major in Social Work, I don’t know yet.

Leave a Reply

