Meet the Team: Diamond

Student of the week DiamondName: Diamond

Major: Clinical Psych

Status: Senior

What is your favorite thing about being a student at UIS?:The small size of the university makes it feel like home, along with those on campus. i enjoy having a university that is small, because the relationships you are able to establish with your professors and administrators is something that would be impossible if I were at another university. The opportunities presented at this campus also makes the list as one of my favorite things about UIS.

What are your goals for the semester?: A few of my goals are to continue to develop as an individual in terms of leadership skills, to finish off all of my graduate school applications before the initial deadlines, and to laugh more and worry less. During my undergrad I did quite a bit of stressing, and that has hindered my enjoyment many of the things that UIS offers. Because it is my last year, I want to enjoy it while also learning so that my experience here is memorable.

If there were a reality TV show of your life, what would it be called? Why?: It’s Lit Like a Candle- I’d probably choose this because there is never a point in my life that SOMETHING isn’t happening. I’ve always been busy and involved on campus, but I thoroughly enjoy it. I’ve also been privileged to meet people at UIS that have made my time here so much more entertaining.

Are you involved in any clubs/activities/sports on campus? Or what are your hobbies?: I am involved in theatre on campus. I have been actively involved in theatre here since I was a freshman. Some of my other hobbies include enjoying time outside or reading. I also love to swim.

What have you learned since working at the library?:Working at the library has taught me the importance of a positive attitude as well as what it means to truly assist those around you to the best of your ability. I have learned a ton of research skills as a student assistant. I also hope to continue to learn how to service others to the best of my abilities.

What are your post-graduation plans?: I plan to enroll in a masters program studying psychology or something related to that field. Once I obtain a masters degree, I’d like to work towards earning my Ph.D. I am super excited about my life after graduation!

Leave a Reply

